Quick Links

Quick Links

St Mark's CE

Primary School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search


Foundation Stage

The reception children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework.  Early years learning concentrates on 7 areas split between prime and specific areas of learning.


The prime areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development


The specific areas of learning are:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design


Teaching is often done through play, where the child learns about subjects and other people through games.


These areas of learning and development dovetail into the National Curriculum.At the beginning of each term information about the curriculum and topics to be covered will be provided for parents. Topics are chosen to reflect the requirements of the National Curriculum and the attention is placed upon the children learning through carefully planned and organised activities with the emphasis on learning from first hand experiences.The school, church, pond, garden area, field and local community are also used to enhance the quality of teaching and learning throughout the school and provide unique first hand learning experiences.


‘Letters and sounds are taught particularly well in Reception and Year 1, often through imaginative play.

Ofsted Inspection Report December 2013